Laundry

Last year, during the writing challenge, I was in the beginning stages of trying to rehab my entire house.  Reconstruct it if you will.  We had picked it up in foreclosure after it had caught fire under the previous owner’s care.  To say the house was a disaster is putting it mildly.  Put that is for a blog another day.

Today I am doing laundry.  As we were reconstructing the house, one of the things I wanted was my laundry room by the bedrooms.  It could not be in the basement.  My house has many levels.  In fact it is like a split level disguised as a 2-story.  But I digress.  I am doing laundry.  My laundry room is outside my children’s bedrooms, just 6 steps down from mine.  It is small, but perfect.  Too perfect.  I can  no longer avoid finishing the laundry in one day.  You know what I’m talking about– Do a few loads, and leave the rest for another day.  The basics are clean and maybe everything else will be clean by Friday.  If not, no worries, I can always finish it next weekend, because laundry never disappears.

But right now, all the laundry is piled in the hallway, just outside that door.  The kids know that I will only do laundry found in their hamper, or that pile.  Once the pile is there, everyone can see it until it disappears.  Black clothes, purple clothes, clothes in multiple colors, socks, pants, shirts, towels, something teal (possibly Becca’s sweatshirt) all  stick out of that pile.  It all must disappear, by today.  Or we will walk all over it all week and anyone who comes over to visit will see our dirty clothes scattered outside the laundry room door.  Unless I can make the pile small enough to shove inside the door.  Then I can quit doing the laundry until next week.  That might be a better plan, do just enough laundry to make it through the week and then I can stop doing the job I don’t like to do anyway.  Because it is just going to come back around next week and the pile will reappear outside that hallway door in a never ending cycle of loads of laundry.

4 thoughts on “Laundry

  1. Our house is full of laundry piles today! We are only in an apartment, so I envy you the space to spread your piles around. Mine are all in the living and . . . well . . . it’s not pretty. Good luck!

  2. Thanks for the reminder. There is laundry hanging out in the washing machine waiting patiently to be dried. In addition there are clothes hanging out on the floor on my husband’s side of the bed. I refuse to put it in the laundry chute 10 steps away in the linen closet that lands in a basket in the laundry room.

  3. Your specific details help me to picture this scene and compare it to my own experience. From the random colors and clothes sticking out of the pile to the six steps of separation from your rooms, I love seeing it through your words. Thanks for sharing! Now off to do my own loads!

  4. I laugh as I read this because my dryer buzzer just went off! Sunday is laundry day at our house as well. I force myself to dump the clean laundry on my bed. That way I have to fold and put it away before I can get to sleep.

Leave a Reply

