M & M’S

I love M & M’s.  The plain, chocolatey goodness as they crunch in my mouth.  But I am one of those strange people.  You know the one I’m talking about.  The person who can’t just pop a handful in their mouth and start enjoying the taste.  Nope.  Not I.  I eat them by color.  I recognize that they all taste the same, but I still color code my M & M’s.  Blue, Brown, Red, Yellow, Orange, Green.

I start with Blue because I don’t like it as an M & M.  I still remember when they had tan ones and how angry I was that the color changed (even though I didn’t like the tan color).  I love the color blue, but it is just wrong to have blue M & M’s.

I end with Green because of the commercials.  You know the ones where the kid would ace his spelling test, or hit a home run because he ate a green M & M.  The color has no bearing on my successes or failures, yet I always end in green just to have a little luck.

Yes I am strange, however, I have come to realize that there are more of me out there.  The people who separate out candy or fruit snacks.  The people who have to sit in the same spot at the dinner table.  I have other specific dietary needs that must be met, fruit snacks eaten in a particular order, food on my plate not touching, etc.  M & M’s are just what I am enjoying right now.

3 thoughts on “M & M’S

  1. Hey there soul sister. 😉 I grew up with divided plates so I know where you’re coming from. It is just wrong to have blue M & M’s. I agree!

  2. I enjoyed reading this piece and your perspective. I have never sorted out my candy by color yet always wondered why people did. Thanks for showing the other side. 🙂

Leave a Reply

