Unexpected Gift

Those who know me, truly know me, know how absolutely hectic and crazy my life is.  Burned out house waiting on permit (we may have one this week, FINALLY!!), co-teaching students with special needs in inclusive classroom settings, followed by teaching karate two or three classes a night and Saturday mornings.  Get up at 5:30, leave the house at 7:00, work, karate, home by 8:00 at night, kids to bed, finally sitting on my couch by 9:15, only to fight sleep because couch sleeping is not the best sleeping.  Intersperse this with random extra things like play practice for my oldest, play dates for the youngest, extra workouts or belt testing for karate and I basically have guaranteed that I will develop attention deficit-hyper activity disorder.  But then blessings come in unexpected places.

The kids are on spring break this week (mine is next week).  Yet my husband still got up with me and made my breakfast like he always does.  He went grocery shopping with the kids and bought my lunch for tomorrow and he sent me a text.  Simply put it said “I expect classes tonight to be small what with spring break and all.  Go home after school and enjoy the quiet house.  I have the kids at the studio.”  And enjoy it I did.  I unloaded and reloaded the dishwasher.  I ran a load of laundry.  I walked on my treadmill for an hour and watch home improvement shows (my newest addiction even though I am living a real life one).  I read my book and talked with my mom.  I paid some bills.  I accomplished a lot, but it was at my pace, not the frantic, everyday pace I am living.  And now it is late and usually I would be tired right now, but instead I am grateful.  I am grateful for the unexpected gift I was granted just because I got to go home early.

2 thoughts on “Unexpected Gift

Leave a Reply

