Summer? Or Winter?

Spring is just around the corner. I can tell. The warning signs are everywhere. People wearing only sweatshirts outside. Stores selling short sleeves and shorts. Bright sunshine melting the frozen tundra that has become our yards. Puddles everywhere and a sloppy, mucky mess entering my house.
Personally I can tell because I wore no coat and flip-flops. My children out grew their gym shoes while wearing their boots. And my son wore shorts with his snow boots to shovel the last of the snow off the driveway, while my husband grilled for the first time in months. Yes, winter is on its way out. Now I have to convince a certain someone it is still too cold for shorts.
20150308_175234

4 thoughts on “Summer? Or Winter?

  1. I love this line: “My children outgrew their gym shoes while wearing their boots.” That one line tells you how long and hard the winter has been. And that photo of your son, in his hooded jacket, snow boots, and shorts (!) shoveling slush is so cute. I also like your other details of the signs of warmer weather; people begin to wear such strange combinations of warm weather/cold weather clothing.

  2. I love this picture. It reminds me of a picture I took of my husband this winter where he was outside attempting to “shovel” the snow with a leaf rake…more effectively than I would’ve guessed! It’s fun to take sneaky snapshots of our loved ones.

  3. I mean, I’m eager for spring to arrive also, but we might want to pump the brakes a little bit on the shorts! Especially since the child is shoveling snow!! Thanks for the giggle tonight!

Leave a Reply

