We Got This

After slicing yesterday, one of the comments inspired me to write a piece on a certain topic. Funny how your mood can change with the snap of a finger, the scream of a child, the devastation from a sentence. No one has died, though it sure does feel like it. Instead I am left in utter despair, unable to comprehend where to go, what to do, or how to help.
It all started last year, when my wonderful husband wanted to move closer to our business. It made sense at the time and I had no good reason to say no. So we started to look, but nothing was perfect. Then he found a foreclosed house with minor fire damage. Yes, fire damage. But don’t worry, it was only one wall from the basement to second floor, with a hole in the roof from where the firemen went in to put it out. And, did I mention, it was previously owned by hoarders who put an addition on without removing old roof lines from 1930. But, hey, no big deal. WE CAN FIX THIS. So I agree, smart woman that I am, that this should be our house. And in October we became the proud owners of the “Money Pit.”
We begin the process of meeting with architects, emailing ideas, and, finally, nail down a plan by Thanksgiving. But said architect takes December to meet with engineers, and electricians before she can actually print the plans to submit for permit. But, hey, no big deal. WE CAN FIX THIS. So I agree, smart woman that I am, that it will eventually be our house, our very own “Money Pit” that we can finally start spending money on.
But, our plans were denied because of a pesky little build line that would not allow a 2nd story to be placed upon said house. So back to the planning stages we go. Starting over again stinks. Replanning within different confines, debating options, stuck with smaller spaces all because of an easy to see error. UGH!! But, hey, no big deal. WE CAN FIX THIS. So I agree, smart woman that I am, that this house will still hold the charm that drew me to it in the first place.
But, then the village says that we cannot have an in-law arrangement without having special hearings for approval from the town. So our choice becomes split the permit and apply for it twice (double the money, double the fun), or wait for 2 months to go before the planning commission and then before the village specifically. But, hey, no big deal. WE GOT THIS. We decide to go with the wait the two months option. We will begin work in April. Great, Awesome, Fantastic. So I think we are good to go, smart woman that I am, and I start to plan moving into the “Money Pit” over the summer.
But, then life throws a curveball. “Money Pit” feels the need to drop one more bath tub through the floor. Apparently the house does not want to look pretty and beautiful again. Oh no it doesn’t, because tonight was the planning meeting and we had it in our calendar for tomorrow. But, hey, no big deal. WE GOT THIS. We still have the choice of splitting the permit, or now we wait until May. And, smart woman that I am, I’m looking for a way to not lose it. I’m looking for a way to not burn it down myself. I’m looking for a way to find some way to laugh at this whole situation, this whole charred and broken, ash and dirt, phoenix will rise from these ashes or SO HELP ME GOD situation. Because, hey, no big deal. WE GOT THIS.

6 thoughts on “We Got This

  1. Oh, Sue, I’m not so sure you guys got anything. Ha! This money pit… someday it will be your dream home. You’re a smart woman, you know I’m right.

    Very effective use of repetition here! Great Slice!

  2. Wow I could feel your frustration brewing and then pouring out in this observation! “Apparently the house does not want to look pretty and beautiful again.” Quite a masterful piece of writing. I am left overwhelmed with you. Somehow I am, also left believing “We got this!”

  3. My realtor friend named his house HUMP for Huge Ugly Money Pit. It was, for awhile. Not so much now.
    I really feel for you and re-read twice to make sure you said not, not burn this place down myself.
    Loved this, in all it’s angst.

    • I love the term HUMP. My husband and I bought the movie Money Pit when we first bought it and I think it will have to be the first one we watch when we finally move in. Writing it all down has helped dispel some of the angst.

  4. I love the repetitive nature of the words, “smart woman that I am”. I feel the frustration and tension building. Good luck. Hopefully all that perseverance will pay off.

  5. Oh I can feel your frustration bubbling over the thin thin line of acceptance. This particular line is going to stick with me:
    “I’m looking for a way to find some way to laugh at this whole situation, this whole charred and broken, ash and dirt, phoenix will rise from these ashes or SO HELP ME GOD situation.”
    The phoenix will be magnificent. Someday. Promise.

Leave a Reply

