Low to High

Last week I was at my lowest point. Buried under stress, overwhelmed with everything going on, and unable to move forward or make any kind of decision. But, as luck would have it, I have some awesome friends. One reminded me that things could be worse–I could be pregnant. Another quite literally slapped me across the face (during karate, but so unexpected I laughed until I cried). And a third stayed with me after school until almost 7, giving me the chance to not go anywhere or do anything except talk. This worked to clear my head and scare my husband into realizing where I was and where I wasn’t.

And then this challenge arrived. I did the challenge last year and even periodically sliced on Tuesday. I wrote a poem last Tuesday just to dust the cobwebs from my brain and found it oddly cathartic. It was short, strong, and gritty. Though I feel it is not my best writing, a few of you were kind enough to comment and found it powerful and structured. I appreciate those words more than you know, given where I am mentally at this point. Now that I have experienced a sense of pride (something sorely lacking for me lately), I choose to once again to do the slice of life challenge. I cannot guarantee what thoughts or actions or snippets will spill forth onto this page. I only know that whatever it is it will be honest and unique and truly me.

11 thoughts on “Low to High

  1. I can relate to the feeling of being overwhelmed and stressed this time of year. It is great to have friends who are there for you and are able to help. It is also nice to share your joys, frustrations, and feelings through writing. I look forward to reading more of your posts this month!

  2. Talking. Writing. They both can be such a release. Such a comfort. Glad you had a ear to bend last week. Channel that emtion and dive into this challenge. Good luck!

  3. I keep cruising back to the karate image–an unexpected slap, laughter, tears. That’s a lot of feeling and emotion in just a moment. What was your karate partner attempting to do, actually? I’m curious. I’m also excited and hopeful for you. You can’t get highs without lows, comparatively. But, the highs are bit breezier on the soul….

  4. Friends are great like that aren’t they?! There’s nothing better than a friend who would slap you and tell you the truth, tell you you could be pregnant or stay and talk. You have great friends!

  5. Crazy all the highs and lows that can happen! But it turned into a great slice! Excited to see what else this month has in store for you!

  6. I’m sorry, it sounds like you’ve had it rough recently. But how wonderful to have such great friends. I look forward to reading what you have to say. I can tell it will be real and open.

Leave a Reply

