Christmas in October

Anticipation.
I am like a kid at Christmas.
I have planned and plotted.
I have hoped and prayed.
Waiting…waiting…waiting
Will we get it?
Will it be ours?
The wait is killing me.
I want to unwrap my present.
I want to see what’s inside.
I want to know if I am getting my heart’s desire.
Waiting…waiting…waiting
Will we get it?
Will it be ours?
I have done my part, now the closing.
Some head scratching required.
Some demolishing required.
Some assembly definitely required.
Until that final day, I sit here
Waiting…waiting…waiting.
Will we get it?
Will it be ours?
I will know this weekend.
Until then I am like a kid at Christmas.

2 thoughts on “Christmas in October

  1. This wasn’t what I was expecting, especially since Michelle Nero also wrote about Christmas displays in the stores (and I just came from her slice).

    Pretty poem. You captured what anticipation feels like. Sometimes it’s so hard to wait!

Leave a Reply

