The Moment

This was “THE ONE!” I don’t know how I know—I JUST DO!!
Our house has been on the market since May. Everyone loves it, no one wants to buy it. My sister-in-law is a realtor and has been sending us “possibilities” every day. I have seen big houses, little houses, scary houses, hoarder houses, little old lady houses, and everything else imaginable. Since the school year began it has been my husband’s task to walk through houses every so often. He goes through the ones that are definite possibilities; most of which he crosses off the list for one infraction or another. But not with “THE ONE!” He has already walked through it, sent some of his own pictures, and made an appointment to come back.
So here I stand in the alcove where the kitchen meets the entry way. With tears in my eyes and no words to express just how right this house feels, I know that I am home. I can see my kids playing in the driveway. I can plan just where the basketball hoop will be. I can see the pictures I will take on those stairs as they get ready to leave for dances or graduations. I can smell cookies baking in the oven, and know that my family will be over for Christmas. And since this house is “THE ONE,” I know that my mother-in-law will be right out that back door, drinking her coffee and being part of my kids lives, just like when my grandma lived with us growing up. This home is suppose to be ours, no not suppose to. This home is meant for us. It has chosen us, as sure as we have chosen it. This home with its missing siding and yellowing walls. This home with its ratty carpeting and burned out kitchen. This home with its ash and soot, burned master bedroom and hole in the roof, mildew in the basement and grime on what windows remain. This house is “THE ONE” and all it will take is a vision, some elbow grease, and a whole lot of TLC. Now we just have to get to the closing.

5 thoughts on “The Moment

  1. Sounds…. ummm…. lovely. Just kidding — I know EXACTLY how you feel. I felt the same way about our new house – it literally made my heart skip a beat when I walked through it.

    I love the surprise details at the end, not at all what I was expecting. I love a good surprise when I’m reading.

    Congrats to you guys! And, welcome back. 🙂

  2. You may have been away from writing for a while, but you talent has not diminished. I love the repetition of what you envision. And that ending – what can I say? Lots of elbow grease in your future, but what a home it will be!

Leave a Reply

