Aside

Nine years

3,285+ Stories read
16,425 (at least) hugs and kisses given
67 band-aids used (I think)
1 broken bone with 2 casts needed
29 (at least) doctor visits
20,000+ laughs
4 different beds
2 different schools
3 different bicycles
2 pairs of rollerskates
countless pairs of shoes
8 teeth lost
infinite amounts of love

My precious baby is 9 today. I told her she is not allowed to get any older and I got “that” look, the look of a child growing up to soon, the look of “give me a break mom,” the look of “really!?!” I know I can not stop time, that she will grow and learn and laugh and cry.

My wish, my hope is that she will come to me with any question, no matter how scary to ask, no matter how embarrassing the topic, no matter how serious the matter, no matter how silly she feels.
My wish, my hope is that she will love to learn and seek out knowledge.
My wish, my hope is that she will see the joy in life, find the good in things that are heartbreaking, grow in mind, body, and spirit.
My wish, my hope is that she will have a generous soul, giving to others but not being taken advantage of.
My wish, my hope is that reading together will never get old, snuggles and hugs will never be avoided, and she will know that I always have her back.
My wish, my hope is that the world will see her as I see her, will appreciate her outlook on life, will accept her for who she is and what she stands for.
My wish, my hope is that she will always know who she is and what she stands for, will always know where home is, will always feel loved.

Happy Birthday to my first born, my favorite oldest daughter. I love you all the way to the moon and back down to the earth infinity times!!

2 thoughts on “Nine years

  1. Nice slice Sue and Happy Birthday to Becca! Seems like just yesterday they were in Pre-school. I love the beginning…numbers – go figure. All your wishes, so genuine, so real. Thanks for sharing! Love it!

Leave a Reply

