Offensively Orange

Today’s slice is brought to you by the letter O and the number 6:18.

I have been thinking of this color all week. What does orange mean within my life? What memories can I pull up involving the color orange, the smell of oranges, anything in this bright, unusual color? I was reminded of testing for my orange belt and breaking my first board and the triumphant, I can do anything feeling that went with that. I was reminded of sunrises and sunsets that I have seen with my husband, or kids, or family, or whoever else was with me at the time. I was remind of campfires and s’mores, and friends telling stories, an burning things that shouldn’t be burned in the fire (like 5 gallons of cooking oil because we had to get rid of it). But none of this was working out in my head.

Then this morning I hear it—
CLICK, CLICK, CLICK, CLICK

The dog is up and walking around, his nails clicking away on our hardwood floors. He is pacing, like he does every morning to work out the kinks in his old hips. Usually this sound is wonderful, usually this sound happens after I am awake. Not this morning. This morning this sound wakes me up. This sound interrupts the warm, cocoon I have created in my bed. This sound has stopped me from sleeping in on the ONE day I am able to sleep past seven.

UGH!! I look over and the clock next to me reads 6:18 in all it’s offensively orange digital glory. I hate that clock. Even on the less bright setting it still pierces my barely open eyes, mocking me, ensuring that I am more awake than I already am, more awake than I want to be. So here I type, sharing something orange in my life. My offensively orange, wake me up even when I can sleep in, why, oh why am I awake clock.

Today’s slice is brought to you by the letter O and the number 6:18.

5 thoughts on “Offensively Orange

  1. I felt myself nodding my head yes when you said, “I look over and the clock next to me reads 6:18 in all it’s offensively orange digital glory.” Why oh why must that run our lives? “The warm cocoon,” sounds so comfortable, makes me want to go back to bed. The dogs nails “clicking away.” It’s something so familiar yet I never really thought much of it until I saw it put into words. Good slice Sue!

  2. Kind of strange coincidence- I got myself a glass of orange juice right before I came across your slice! I loved your line “pierces my barely open eyes, mocking me, ensuring that I am more awake than I already am”

  3. I’ve had three glasses of OJ today, which is unusual for me to do. I feel like I was destined to read this slice!

    Love the bookends of your writing: “Today’s slice is brought to you by the letter O and the number 6:18.”

  4. I feel the disdain for your annoying orange clock. 🙂 Haha.. Mocking you. I feel you girl. I like your structure and how you pull everything together, Sue! Your bookends really make your theme memorable.

Leave a Reply

