Bubbling Blue

Today’s slice is brought to you by the letter B and the number 2.

“Mom, will you come play battleship with me?”

And off we go, Becca and I, upstairs to Auntie Kim’s office to play battleship. Her eyes are sparkling, and brilliantly happy.  They are the color of my father’s eyes, they are the color of my eyes, and now they are her “scolastico” eyes, as she calls them.

We set up the game boards and quickly trade shots. G7–miss–giggle, giggle.  H10–miss–laughter.   A4–hit–belly laugh from her as she scores the first strike.  Back and forth we go.  Her eyes sparkling with joy, mine must be too.

I hear the family downstairs wondering where we are.  It is late and we should leave and put the kids to bed but nothing is stopping this perfect moment.  We play on.  B8–miss–more giggles. H3–hit–another ship is sunk.  And then he walks in. Grandpa.  The trouble-maker, joke player, the sure to add some fun of his own-maker.  I know his tricks.  I have seen them, experienced them, and done them back to him.  He sits beside Becca and looks at her board.  She looks at me with laughter in her eyes. She has caught on to Grandpa’s game.  She thinks he will give her ships away.  She waits.  But then he moves to sit behind me.  I know he will give away my last ship and the game will be done.  He says nothing, just points to his eye.  That wonderfully perfect blend of blue and green.  That awesome eye color that changes to green when upset, or brilliantly, bubbling blue when joyful.  He points to that boisterous blue eye and waits.  Waits for someone to realize the implication.  Waits for a set of eyes, so blue like her grandfathers, to look up and understand his hints.  And then she does.  She sees the message and waits for the number.  Laughter and shared secrets between them.  I7–hit—she rolls around on the floor laughing.  And I fake exasperation because I know their tricks, I know their game.  I have experienced it, I have lived it, and I have done it.  As I look at the two of them, with eyes like mine, I realize how very true that eyes are the windows to the soul.  At that moment we all had Bubbling Blue eyes, and laughter to go with it.

Today’s slice is brought to you by the letter B and the number 2.

8 thoughts on “Bubbling Blue

  1. “The bubbling blue eyes…I know his tricks. I have seen them, experienced them, and done them back to him.” I would copy and paste the whole piece in here if I could. There is so much perfect word choice in here. Not to mention a perfect circle of events. Love!

  2. Love, love, love the thread of shared eye color, shared eye beauty, shared generational sharing of eye qualities. It held the rest of your fantastic story together so perfectly. Well done, Sue!

  3. I loved your line “It is late and we should leave and put the kids to bed but nothing is stopping this perfect moment. We play on.” It gives such feelings of warmth and love and that what you are doing is more important that following a time frame.

Leave a Reply

