Wednesday

It’s my night off!!!  I don’t have to teach karate tonight.  That’s right, I teach reading, writing, and math by day and self-defense, awareness, and discipline by night.  I teach both internal and external strength.  But that is a story for another day because tonight is my night off!!! 

Instead I get to watch my kids at their gymnastics class. Usually I am that mom–you know, the one who is reading and sort of watching what her kids are doing. Tonight, I am WATCHING every move they make.  I will see all the progress they have made doing a sport other than karate.

My daughter, Becca, is in love with the beam and bars. She moved up to the intermediate class just a few months ago. Her balance is improving, her round-offs are smoother, and she is working on skills I wish I had. She did a round-off right off the edge of the beam. Love that triumphant smile.

My son, Jack, is a typical 5 year old. He has trouble staying focused and on task. A little bribery is going a long way tonight. He keeps glancing up at me– “Are you watching mom?” I give a thumbs up and circle my hands as if to say “do it again.” He does. Handstands against the wall, cartwheels over the mat, pull ups on the bar, jumps on the vault. He just keeps going and going and trying and trying.

And at the end of class, Becca is proud of the callouses on her hands and Jack is hot and sweaty and I am proud of all the work and fun they had. I love when I have nights off!!

4 thoughts on “Wednesday

  1. I can’t think of a better way to spend your night off. Doesn’t it feel good to just watch? We don’t get a lot of time to do that, do we? Back to the grind tomorrow, but at least you got to be “just a mom” for a bit tonight!

  2. How wonderful that you got to focus on mommy moments for the night! And now you’ve recorded them for posterity in a post–even better.

Leave a Reply

