Jimmy

Image

I was reminded this weekend that there will come a day in the not so distant future that will break my family’s heart.  You see, my first “baby” is 13 years old.  And for him, that is old.  He has grown a gray beard and is starting to lose his hearing.  He still plays like a puppy, but has trouble getting up the stairs.  This weekend his eye was bleeding (vet said he was fine though).  My husband Paul, and I know we don’t have a lot of time left with him, but our children have not realized what it means to not have our precious Jimmy.

Jimmy was there when we brought each of them home from the hospital.  He kept looking at family members coming and going with a face that clearly said “Are you taking that thing (baby) home with you?”  When everyone had left, he laid down next to each of them, let out a sigh, and became their best friend. 

When my daughter was sick or hurt, she never wanted mommy.  She would call for Jimmy.  Hugs from him made her feel better, soothed her fears, or calmed her down.  She learned to read by reading to him. 

When my son wants to play, Jimmy is right there chasing his heels, barking up a storm.  Jimmy will hang out with him outside the whole time, protecting him, watching him, or just being by him. 

Jimmy adopted us as much as we adopted him.  And when the time comes to say good-bye to our first “kid,” our hearts will be broken, and there will be no Jimmy to make us feel better.

8 thoughts on “Jimmy

  1. I’m touched by your love for your “fur baby”. It is a funny thing how much they invade our hearts! I hope Jimmy’s days are filled with love.

  2. This post makes me so sad. My heart is breaking for all of you -hopefully you have many years left. My baby is only 4 but having already lost a dog once, I can hardly breathe thinking about losing this one. Hugs to Jimmy.

  3. Another friend is going through the same things with her puppy (also a lab) and he’s starting to not be able to walk. I’m sorry your family won’t have Jimmy forever but I’m sure from reading your post that you’ve shared many wonderful days together…thinking of you all as you experience the difficult time.

  4. My baby is 14 1/2 and we are spending as much time as we can hugging her and opening the door the second she lets us know she wants out. She has given us so much joy and we are dreading the day she won’t be with us anymore. Kisses to Jimmy. A family’s best friend.

  5. Sue, you made me cry! I’m a sucker for doggies and know how near and dear they are to our hearts and how much a family member they are. The part where your daughter (who I cannot believe is in that pic by the way- she was JUST in kindergarten!) calls for him when she’s sick just caught me. Hold on to that Jimmy as long as you can. And then get another. 🙂

  6. Love this line, “When everyone had left, he laid down next to each of them, let out a sigh, and became their best friend. ” How true it is that dogs adopt us, too.

  7. Aw man, Sue! 😦 I feel you. My dog, Bernadette, will be 7 at the end of the month. I don’t know what we’d do without her. Cherish all the time you have with him. What a sweet post that really tugs at the heart strings. (and p.s? You are too a writer, Susan!)

Leave a Reply

